Coochbehar Panchanan Barma University – All College Wise List

College NameMerit List Date (16/08/2023)Admission Last Date (01.08.2023)
Acharya Brojendra Nath Seal College
Cooch Behar College
Dinhata College
Mathabhanga College
Netaji Subhas Mahavidyalaya
Mekliganj College
Thakur Panchanan Mahila Mahavidyalaya
Sitalkuchi College
Baneswar Sarathibala Mahavidyalaya
Ghoksadanga Birendranath Mahavidyalaya
Bakshirhat Mahavidyalaya
Dewanhat Mahavidyalaya
Madhusudan Hore Mahavidyalaya
Tufanganj Mahavidyalaya


Pol. Sc
Library and information science
Mass communication


The Government of West Bengal established Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University under the West Bengal Act XXI of 2012 and The Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University Act 2012[6]

The first statutes of the university were approved by the chancellor of the university, the Hon’ble Governor of West Bengal, in the first week of January 2015, and subsequently printed. On 8 April 2015, the University Grants Commission, New Delhi, granted its ‘2(F)’ affiliation. The first statutes were gazetted at the end of April 2015, while the first Executive Council meeting was held on 22 May 2015.

The university, which functioned from its camp office at Central Farmers’ Hostel, Uttar Banga Krishi Viswavidyalaya, Pundibari, shifted to its permanent campus on Vivekananda Street, near ‘Krishi Bij Khamar’, Cooch Behar, on 19 August 2015. Before this, through a July 2015 order from the Department of Higher Education, Government of West Bengal, 15 general-degree colleges, mostly from the district of Cooch Behar, were initially affiliated with the University.

Professor Indrajit Ray, a former teacher of economics at the University of North Bengal, was the first vice-chancellor, while Professor Shubhrangshu Sekhar Chattopadhyay, originally from the Department of Law, University of Calcutta, joined the university as the second vice-chancellor in January 2015. Presently, Prof. Syamal Roy, originally from the Indian Institute of Chemical Biology is officiating as the first permanently appointed vice-chancellor. Dr. Debkumar Mukhopadhyay is the first registrar of Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University.[7] Mr. Nirupom Bhattacharyya is the (acting) Finance Officer.

Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University

COOCH BEHAR PANCHANAN BARMA UNIVERSITY has been named after the great social reformer Thakur Panchanan Barma. Panchanan Barma, also known as Thakur Panchanan and Roy Saheb, was a Rajbanshi leader and reformer from Cooch Behar. He established Kshatriya Sabha in order to inculcate Brahminical values and practices among the people from the Rajbanshi community in this region in particular, and in Bengal in general. Thakur Panchanan Barma (1866 – 1935) was born at Khalisamari village in erstwhile Cooch Behar State. He graduated from Victoria College, Cooch Behar – which was then affiliated with the University of Calcutta – with honors in Sanskrit in 1893. Later he passed MA and LLB in 1897 and 1898 respectively from the same university.